A Beautiful Wedding along the Charles River

mary_fitz_092317-3The sun had begun its final descent, casting a warm golden light upon everything it touched. Its rays lengthened, stretching across the globe and creating a small window of opportunity. I had been waiting for that light since last April; it had finally arrived!

mary_fitz_092317

I was approached by the loveliest couple early last spring who wanted me to photograph their wedding. We scouted out the venue together, before the flowers had bloomed, before the leaves had budded, and before the air had lost its winter chill. I meandered around the property, camera in hand asking myself one simple question – can I see it? Can I see what September 23rd, 2017 is going to look like? Can I feel the warm summer breeze on my face? Can I imagine my forehead glistening with a thin layer of sweat from the day’s heat?

mary_fitz_092317-5

Spring turned to summer, summer came to an end, and just like that, it was time for a beautiful wedding along the Charles River.

mary_fitz_092317-2

Right after the ceremony, the bride, groom, and I made our way down to a dock nestled along the river. The sun light had turned warm and golden as day prepared to become night. I had composed a few shots in my head all those months ago back in April when we had scouted out the venue. I was ready and I knew a few of the shots that I wanted to get. Everything came together beautifully and I feel so blessed to have been a part of this amazing wedding!

mary_fitz_092317-7

As I continue to make my way through the images, I will compile a larger sampling of images and compose a post that details my experience of using two Fujifilm X-Pro2s to document this wedding. Until then, I wanted to post a few of my favorite images so far.

mary_fitz_092317-4

Leave a Reply

