One For the Wall

Don’t you wish more of your photographs were hanging on your walls? Or rather, don’t you wish more of your photographs were worthy of hanging on your walls?

Oftentimes I find myself aimlessly scrolling through travel or landscape photography albums, whether they be on 500px, instagram, facebook, etc. There are always a few photos that make me stop and really study the image; these photographs are comprised of a captivating subject, a great amount of post-processing, and are scenes one would rarely ever stumble upon. I look at these images daily, trying to figure out the secret. plane_031116_1

But then I have to remind myself; it’s not all about the places you travel, or the gear you shoot with, but rather the memory you are trying to preserve, when it comes to hanging photos on your walls. In the case of this photograph – I want to remember the adventurous spirit, in both my father and I, that drove us to veer of the road and trek miles and miles off of Route 1 in Iceland to find this plane. I want to remember the fun we had, congregating around this aeronautical monolith, each trying to photograph it in a unique way. And I want to remember the fun the two of us shared on that trip.

Don’t you wish more of your photographs were hanging on your walls? Then make more memories, share more experiences, adventure to new lands, and then return home and hang the reminders on your walls.

Leave a Reply

